Open Access Research
A comprehensive guide on the resources that are made available to the collective research community, both at USF and abroad. Functioning as a one-stop shop for post-grads and community researchers, this guide covers a wide range of information.
Meet your Librarian
Meet your Librarian
Susan Ariew, USF Tampa
Contact:
Academic Services Librarian for Education & Philosophy
USF Tampa Library
LIB 112F
813-974-0304
Website
USF Tampa Library
LIB 112F
813-974-0304
Overview
Welcome to the University of South Florida Libraries' LibGuide on Open Access Resources, specifically designed to empower our alumni and the general public with free, unrestricted access to a wealth of knowledge. This guide provides a comprehensive overview of open-access resources including scholarly articles, books, databases, and educational materials that support lifelong learning and continuous professional development. Whether you are furthering your education, conducting research, or pursuing personal interests, here you'll find essential tools and guidance to access high-quality information resources globally, ensuring that the USF community remains connected and well-informed, regardless of your location or affiliation with the university.
Finding Aids--Gateway Content
- Digital Commons NetworkThe digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges around the world. This network includes collections of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other scholarly contributions.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)OAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
top subjects - Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)A unique index of diverse, open access journals from around the world. Content is free available for everyone.
- HathiTrustHathiTrust was founded in 2008 as a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries now preserving 18+ million digitized items in the HathiTrust Digital Library. We offer reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. and international copyright law, text and data mining tools for the entire corpus, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
- Internet Archive BooksSome books in this vast archive can be freely read and downloaded. Others can be borrowed and read on the Internet Archive's book reader if you register.
- JSTOR: Register and ReadAlthough JSTOR is a wonderful archive of quality journals behind a paywall, you can register and get free access to content. Free access means you can read but not download or print content.
- OpenDOAROpen DOAR is a global directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on features like location, software or type of material. Includes 88,343,822 research articles and books.
- SSRNSSRN offers 1,368,361 research papers from 1,636484 researchers in 70 disciplines
USF Offered Resources
- Alumni and Visitors - USF LibrariesFind out more about what services are offered to alumni and visitors of the USF Libraries throughout the year.
- Library Hours - USF LibrariesReview our most up-to-date hours for each of the three major USF Library locations so that you can effectively leverage library services.
- Computer Use - USF LibrariesBe sure to understand public usage of library computers before stopping in for your next project.
New to Open Access as a concept?
- Visiting Scholar LibGuideFirst time working with USF Libraries as a visiting scholar? Take a second to review our guidance on what perks visiting scholars get, and how USF libraries can support your research.
- Understanding Open Access LibGuideIdeal for novice researchers, this guide highlights the strengths of publishing open access. With several breakdowns and key content to help shape your understanding of open access, this is a great launching point for the topic.