This collection consists of correspondence and an autobiographical account of Gerta Pfeffer, a German Jewish woman who came of age during the Third Reich. Pfeffer's writings discuss her experiences with anti-Semitism, the rise of the National Socialist German Worker's Party (Nazi Party), and the economic, interpersonal, and discriminatory struggles she encountered in her homeland.
A growing collection of rare books, manuscripts, realia, photographic evidence, and other documents related to Armenia, the Holocaust, and genocides in the African Great Lakes region comprise the Center’s collection.
The Anglo-Irish Collection reflects the research and personal interests of Dr. Francis J. Thompson, whose library was donated to Special Collections by his wife Marjorie after his death in 1989. The materials mainly encompass Irish history, literature, politics and art from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, with a focus on Fenianism and the Irish Literary Revival — the topic of Dr. Thompson’s doctoral dissertation from NYU.
Centro Español, established in April 1891 as Tampa's first mutual aid society, offered social and recreational activities, education and low-cost health care to Spanish immigrants drawn to the area by the cigar industry.
The Centro Asturiano de Tampa Collection in USF Libraries Special Collections consists of club and hospital records, meeting minutes, photographs, ephemera, zarzuelas, playbills, financial records, memorias, sheet music, and cemetery records. Included in the ephemera, are flags, trophies, printing plates, and various artifacts related to the club.
This collection primarily consists of organizational documents and publications. Also includes photographs, club histories, contracts, circulars, and the society's ledgers which record the names of members and dues records.