The USF Health Libraries contains discipline-specific resources for the fields of Public Health, Pharmacy, Medicine, Nursing, Athletic Training, and more. Below are databases and e-book suggestions to begin your research within those fields.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of seven databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register; Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED); About The Cochrane Collaboration. This collection brings together up-to-date research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions, as well as methodology and diagnostic tests. There are over 5000 Cochrane Reviews available in The Cochrane Library, and over 2000 protocols, providing descriptions of the research methods and objectives for Cochrane Reviews in progress.
Embase is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing bibliographic records with abstracts from Embase (1974-present) and MEDLINE (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with Emtree. The following fields are covered: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
PsychiatryOnline is a web-based portal that features the DSM-5, one of the most widely used psychiatric references. The portal also includes journals such as the American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, and The Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences. Additional content includes textbooks such as the American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences and Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders; self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review; American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders; and clinical and research news from Psychiatric news. PsychiatryOnline supports unlimited PDA downloads, cross-format searching across books and journals on the site, linking between references, and the emailing of the full text of any book section.
Covers the professional academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. Coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to over 1,300 journals and to dissertations in over 30 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language. Over 50,000 references added annually. Popular literature is excluded. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
To create a new personal NCBI account or Log in to your existent personal account via USF under More Login Options, use this link: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ (NOT through EZproxy).
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers. Provides access to over 12 million Medline citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
A web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 2000 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The journals are arranged under subject areas for topical navigation. -- USF Libraries access is based on purchase of or subscription to specific titles in ScienceDirect. Access is generally back to 1995, with backfile access to selected titles. Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. -- For saving searches and setting up email alerts please register in Scopus.
The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
Features over 60 medical book titles, drug information, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment programs, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. NOTE: To use the self-assessment tools and case studies, you will need to register for a free AccessMedicine account.
Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, or searching across McGraw-Hill pharmacy and medical textbooks. NOTE: You must register for a free Access account to use the self-assessment tools and case studies.
NetLibrary is one of USFs largest collection of online books from various publishers. While USF has not purchased the entire NetLibrary collection, the USF collection numbers over 69,000 titles with a focus on scholarly publications with some general interest titles included. Over 54% of the titles are from university presses such as Oxford, MIT, and SUNY. Publishers with substantial content include Wiley and Taylor & Francis. NetLibrary also contains a searchable collection of electronic books in the public domain including titles digitized by Yale University Press.
Full-text cross-searchable reference books for the health professional. Includes other resources such as Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000, a unique computerized medical reference and tool set.
MedOne Education (formerly Thieme Electronic Book Library) is Thieme’s medical learning platform that features over 110 e-textbooks covering the entire medical school curriculum, with textbooks in the health and life sciences, Thieme’s color atlases of anatomy, and review books (including USMLE test prep.) The searchable platform includes 761 videos, over 57,000 images, and a new Q&A section with over 1,000 questions. Non USF Health patrons click here.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings Includes the subject areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.