ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. It was generously funded by the USF Womens Club on behalf of all faculty, staff, and students at the University of South Florida. The name ARTstor is derived from JSTOR, a digital library initiative sponsored by the Mellon Foundation. Some of the significant collections within ARTstor include: images from the Library of Congress, the Peabody Museum at Harvard, the Mellon International Dunhuang Archive, the Schlesinger History of Women in America Collection, Native American Art and Culture from the National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution and the QTVR Panoramas of World Architecture. There are plans for another 900,000 images to be added. ARTstor supports historians of art and architecture and others engaged with the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classical studies, literary studies, Medieval studies, music, religious studies, and Renaissance studies. This resource comes with a set of tools to view, present and manage images for research and teaching. One can browse the content by collection, classification, geography; create groups of images and organize them in shared folders; upload personal image and sound files to ARTstor; export images; and export citations to RefWorks, EndNote, and ProCite. Instructors can share ARTstor content through Blackboard. There are set of recommended system requirements for the optimal use of ARTstor. The beta version of ARTstor was launched June, 2008 requiring the use of Internet Explorer version 7.0 and Firefox 2.0 and higher. Please consult the ARTstor web site for a detailed list of these requirements. NOTE: Popup blocking software must be disabled in order to open an image. An alternative to disabling this software is to hold down the Ctrl key as you click on an image or link.
Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. High quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1984. In-depth abstracts of 50 to 150 words let users know instantly if a cited article is useful to their research. Full text of articles from journals as far back as 1995. Search using the Wilson subject thesaurus developed specifically for this database. Up-to-date subject headings keep pace with the latest topics in the visual, performing, and literary arts. Graphical content adds a key dimension to research - PDF page images accompany full text articles, offering both words and images. Search by keyword, subject, personal names, title words, publication, year, type of article or any combination, to find exactly what you need. Daily updates bring users current information. -- Humanities Full Text covers a full range of subjects: Archaeology ; Area Studies ; Art ; Classical Studies ; Communications ; Dance ; Film ; Folklore ; Gender Studies ; History ; Journalism ; Linguistics ; Literary & Social Criticism ; Literature ; Music ; Performing Arts ; Philosophy ; Religion & Theology. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. USF has access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Ecology & Botany II Collection, Ireland Collection, Life Sciences Collection, and Sustainability Extension. For more information on these collection, please refer to https://about.jstor.org/librarians/journals/multi-discipline/. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
The MLA International Bibliography indexes journal articles, books and dissertations in the areas of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, rhetoric and composition, dramatic arts, and the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. This database includes journal abbreviations and acronyms for almost 3,500 titles.
A full-text collection of international journals,magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives,including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited