Evan Fruehauf, MLIS
Physics
Welcome to the USF Physics LibGuide! This comprehensive guide is designed to support students, faculty, and researchers in the field of physics by providing easy access to essential resources and information. Here, you will find a curated collection of books, academic journals, databases, and other valuable materials to aid your study and research. Whether you are looking for the latest physics research, need help with citations, or are seeking guidance on how to utilize library resources effectively, this LibGuide has you covered. Explore the various sections to discover tools and tips that will enhance your learning experience and support your academic success in physics.
Starting Points
Discipline Related Resources
Offers access to a comprehensive collection of databases and repositories tailored to the field of physics. These resources offer essential information, including academic journals, conference dissertations, and the latest in physics research, to support research and professional development in various physics-based disciplines.Interdisciplinary Resources
Features a curated selection of databases and repositories that bridge multiple fields of study, fostering a holistic approach to research. These resources provide valuable insights and data from diverse disciplines, enabling engineers to explore innovative solutions and collaborate across various domains.Numerical Resources
Explore our comprehensive collection of numerical resources for physics, offering essential tools and datasets for solving complex physics problems. Whether you're working on simulations, data analysis, or mathematical modeling, these resources will help you apply numerical methods to advance your research and understanding in the field of physics.
Upcoming Workshops for Physicists
USF Workshops 4 Researchers
Virtual workshops on a range of tools and techniques supporting the research endeavors of USF researchers across disciplines. Workshops are offered in fall and spring semesters and are not recorded. Instructional material from past workshops are available in our workshop archive.
New Texts for Physicists
Natural Gas Liquids by Call Number: TP761.L5 L38 2014ISBN: 9781593703240Publication Date: 2014-09-19Written in accessible language, Natural Gas Liquids: A Nontechnical Guide is a comprehensive overview of NGLs from production in the oil patch to consumption in the fuels and petrochemicals industries. Author William Leffler covers everything from gas plants, logistics, storage, refinery operations, and the chemistry necessary to have a full understanding of the whole value chain. With chapter highlights and exercises, and many photos, illustrations and graphs, this is the perfect resource for anyone seeking a better understanding of the world of natural gas liquids.
Nuclear Energy by Call Number: TP761.L5 L38 2014ISBN: 9780199759453Publication Date: 2011-05-17Originally perceived as a cheap and plentiful source of power, the commercial use of nuclear energy has been controversial for decades. Worries about the dangers that nuclear plants and their radioactive waste posed to nearby communities grew over time, and plant construction in the United States virtually died after the early 1980s. The 1986 disaster at Chernobyl only reinforced nuclear power's negative image. Yet in the decade prior to the Japanese nuclear crisis of 2011, sentiment about nuclear power underwent a marked change. The alarming acceleration of global warming due to the burning of fossil fuels and concern about dependence on foreign fuel has led policymakers, climate scientists, and energy experts to look once again at nuclear power as a source of energy. In this accessible overview, Charles D. Ferguson provides an authoritative account of the key facts about nuclear energy.
Power Trip by Call Number: TJ163.2 .W368 2019ISBN: 9781541644397Publication Date: 2019-05-07A global tour of energy--the builder of human civilization and also its greatest threat. Energy is humanity's single most important resource. In fact, as energy expert Michael E. Webber argues in Power Trip, the story of how societies rise can be told largely as the story of how they manage energy sources through time. In 2019, as we face down growing demand for and accumulating environmental impacts from energy, we are at a crossroads and the stakes are high. But history shows us that energy's great value is that it allows societies to reinvent themselves. Power Trip explores how energy has transformed societies of the past and offers wisdom for today's looming energy crisis. There is no magic bullet; energy advances always come with costs. Scientific innovation needs public support. Energy initiatives need to be tailored to individual societies. We must look for long-term solutions. Our current energy crisis is real, but it is solvable. We have the power.
The Science of Answering Questions by Call Number: HA35 .S78 2024ISBN: 9781793582508Publication Date: 2023-05-16The Science of Answering Questions: A Statistical Approach introduces students to the process of determining an answer to a question or problem through the collection of information, the use of statistical tools on the information, and reaching a conclusion based on the results. Opening chapters explore the evidence needed to answer the question of interest. Students learn about variables, levels of measurement, populations, samples, and sampling, as well as commonly used and freely available statistical software that can be used in statistical analyses.
Getting Connected
At USF, each program is assigned at least one Research and Instruction Librarian to help both faculty and students conduct academic research. For the Department of Physics, R&I Librarians Evan Fruehauf and Natalie Boulanger are responsible for supporting the academic research students and faculty are conducting. If at any point you don't feel comfortable with a concept or idea, be sure to email your librarians for help. See below for a variety of other ways to get connected to librarians and staff at USF Libraries:
Ask A Librarian Service
Between 10am-8pm, Monday-Friday, get a chance to chat virtually with library professionals who can assist with research and reference questions.
USF Libraries Website
Find a variety of resources, guides, and repositories to help guide your research. Be sure to sign in before using any paywalled databases of any sort.
Stop into the Library
Depending on the day, the USF Library at Tampa Campus can be open up to 24 hours. With caring staff who will happily assist in booking you a study room, showing you around, or helping you find a resource, you'll be in good hands. Be sure to check our hours before you stop in!