Ancient Art and Archaeology

The BAR Digital Collection provides access to over 3,000 e-books of academic archaeological research, encompassing all periods from prehistory, through classical archaeology, to 20th century archaeology around the globe. The collection includes monographs, edited collections of paper, excavation and site reports and conference proceedings.

This volume holds biographical entries on nearly 500 individuals of central importance from the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome, including writers, thinkers, artists, scientists, statesmen, kings, queens, and other historical figures.

PLEASE MAKE SURE you are logged in to USF Library prior to clicking this link.
Brill's Companions to Classical Studies is a series of handbooks on a wide variety of subjects and persons from Classical Antiquity, and scholarship on anything from Greek comedy – one of the unmissable volumes – to Aphrodite, Ovid, and the Greek and Latin pastoral.

Catalog link. 'The Oxford Companion to Archaeology' is an up-to-date reference work on virtually every aspect of this fascinating field. Entries range from the broad overviews, to treatments of particular themes, to discussions of peoples, and societies.

Catalog link.

Catalog link. This work incorporates the updates and revisions made to the latest edition of the acclaimed 'Oxford Classical Dictionary', from which this abridged Companion derives. A revised chronology, bibliography, and thematic listing of entries supplement the A to Z entries. It also contains over 40 new or completely rewritten entries on Greek and Roman society and culture, including ancient perceptions of colour, gender, ghosts, masculinity, sacred laws, and theatricality, as well as new feature entries on topics such as emotions, madness, and ancient conceptions of the senses.

Potts, D. T
Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated; 2012
A comprehensive and authoritative overview of ancient material culture from the late Pleistocene to Late Antiquity.

Raja, Rubina ; Rüpke, Jörg
Somerset: WILEY; 2015
A Companion to the Archaeology of Religion in the Ancient World presents a comprehensive overview of a wide range of topics relating to the practices, expressions, and interactions of religion in antiquity, primarily in the Greco-Roman world.