Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use EB Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. -- Also includes: Enciclopedia Moderna, Escolar Online, Encyclopaedia Universalis Junior, Encyclopaedia Universalis, Britannica Online Japan -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
A comprehensive source for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features articles ranging from biographies to entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. Covering every classical art form, and time period, the encyclopedia includes artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
This work provides comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual arts. It examines the historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
BAR (British Archaeological Reports) Digital Collection provides access to over 3,000 e-books of academic archaeological research, encompassing all periods from prehistory, through classical archaeology, to 20th century archaeology around the globe. The collection includes monographs, edited collections of paper, excavation and site reports and conference proceedings.
More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture in short, an entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations.
Oxford Academic Books provides full-text online access to electronic books published by the Oxford University Press and its partner publishers. Oxford Academic hosts electronic books in Oxford Scholarship Online, University Press Scholarship Online, Oxford Handbooks Online, and Oxford Medicine Online collections. The Classical Studies Subject area includes key titles in the discipline, including essential scholarly works by leading classical scholars on Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History.
The 4th edition of 'The Oxford Classical Dictionary' is the ultimate reference on the classical world. It contains over 6,200 entries with contributions from a team of 364 scholars and 15 specialist subject area advisors.
Catalog link. Spanning almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this reference work presents more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. Covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion.
This text includes substantial entries from all disciplines on the topic of ancient Egypt. Among the multitude of subjects covered are religion and mythology, medicine, art, archaeology sociology, trade and commerce, dialects, and agriculture.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
This handbook provides an authoritative guide to the full range of archaeological activities past and present. It will give the reader a sense of the history of the subject and of the main theoretical debates, as well as a taste of the excitement generated by archeological exploration.
Provides indexing and brief abstracts to articles and conference papers in the classics. All records are classified in a two-part system: ancient authors and texts, subjects and disciplines. The format of the bibliographical references conforms as closely as possible to that of the printed volumes.
This citation index covers European and American art and architecture from late antiquity to the present. Art and architecture related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs. Coverage: 1974-2009.
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
A scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules, OBO is designed to help busy researchers find reliable sources of information in half the time by directing them to exactly the right chapter, book, website, archive, or data set they need for their research. All citations are linked through to your collection via OpenURL, full-text via DOIs, or to the web via links to OCLC, WorldCat, and Google Books, allowing users to locate quickly full-text content directly from OBO.
Indexes works in the fields of classical archaeology, Etruscology, Minoan archaeology and prehistory, Byzantine art history, numismatics, and classical history. Within Projekt Dyabola, USF subscribes to Archologische Bibliographie, 1956-2005 and the supplements. This resource indexes books, articles and reviews in these fields, as found in periodicals, congress reports, and exhibition and museum catalogs.
Offers access to eBooks from Cambridge University Press. Selected books are available in full text to USF-affiliated users. -- USF has purchased more than 2700 titles published online in 2012, 2013, and 2014. In order to access these titles, check the box "Limited to your access" in the search screen.
The Catalog of Art Museum Images Online documents international works of art featured in prominent museums. Includes architectural imagery, costumes, jewelry, decorative arts, paintings, photographs, and more.