Ancient Art and Archaeology

The Ashmolean's collection of art and archaeology spans more than ten thousand years, and contains over a million artefacts documented in paper records covering more than 330 years.

Publications include illustrated works on artists and art history, exhibition catalogues, works on cultural history, research on the conservation of materials and archaeological sites, scholarly monographs, critical editions of translated works, comprehensive studies of the Getty's collections, and educational books on art.

MetPublications is an online portal to The Metropolitan Museum of Art's comprehensive art publishing program. It features over 1700 titles, including books, guides, Bulletins and Journals from the last six decades. The full contents of over 1400 out-of-print titles may be read online, searched, or downloaded as a PDF for free. Publications still in-print may be previewed and fully searched online through a link to Google Books.

Discover the story of art and global culture through The Met collection. Explore more than 1,000 essays on a wide range of topics, including artists, materials, movements, and themes.

Explore the Tampa Museum of Art’s permanent collection of art and artifacts with their searchable object database.

The Walters Art Museum’s collection spans more than seven millennia, from 5,000 BCE to the 21st century, and encompasses 36,000 objects.

View highlights from Ya'le's collections, or explore all 186,901 objects.

A subject guide on early photographs of ancient Greek and Roman art and architecture from the Getty Research Institute.

The Internet Archive provides free access to collections of digitized materials including websites, software applications, music, audiovisual and print materials. A valuable resource that is currently under attack

Ancient Greek names are an important resource for the historian of the ancient Mediterranean world. The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names (LGPN) traces every bearer of every name, drawing on a huge variety of evidence, from personal tombstones, dedications, works of art, to civic decrees, treaties, citizen-lists, artefacts, graffiti etc.: in other words, from all Greek literary sources, documentary sources (inscriptions and papyri), coins, and artefacts.

Smarthistory is a collaborative of more than five hundred art historians, curators, archaeologists, and artists committed to unlocking the expertise of hundreds of leading scholars, and making the history of art accessible to more people.

The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum ('Corpus of Ancient Vases') is the oldest research project of the UAI. It consists of a series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. The first fascicule appeared in 1922 and since then more than 400 have appeared, illustrating more than 100,000 vases in 24 countries.