Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media Resources: Images, Video, and Audio

How to find and use media resources provided by the USF Libraries for your teaching, learning, and research needs.

About This Guide

The USF Libraries provides access to digital images, audio, and streaming video via a variety of platforms and library database subscriptions.  Use this guide to learn how to locate media in the USF Libraries' collections and to find whether a certain title is available either on a time limited or perpetual basis.

An End to Streaming Media Leasing

The USF Libraries has discontinued leasing new titles, particularly on the Kanopy and Swank platforms. Streaming media titles with expiration dates into 2022 will continue to be available until they expire, and content that the USF Libraries own with perpetual access will be available in perpetuity.  For more information on the history of this service, please visit the Streaming Media F.A.Q. 

The USF Libraries is continuing subscriptions to currently licensed video collections or databases as listed on the Streaming Video Databases tab. For individual titles outside of these database platforms, please see the Currently Available Streaming Titles tab for more details.  

Find and Use Streaming Media in Your Online Class

  1. Check the currently licensed video collections or databases as listed on the Streaming Video Databases tab or the Libraries’ Catalog to locate titles available to you in the Libraries’ collections 

  1. Explore Openly Accessible Educational Videos and Learning Objects that your students can freely access online 

  1. If a free and legitimate online copy is available, consider linking the media or embedding by link into your online class 

  1. For media that is available through commercial streaming platforms like Netflix, consider adding a note to your syllabus that the students should independently obtain access 

  1. Consult with your Liaison Librarian to identify streaming media titles available for your use 

  1. Check the Copyright and Streaming Videos tab or Ask your Copyright Librarian to see if your use fits an exception in copyright law 

Have questions? Looking for alternative content?