Media Resources: Images, Video, and Audio

A collection of aerial photographs taken between 1930 and 2000. Literally, a portrait of the state, the collection will be comprised of hundreds of thousands of aerial photographs documenting the land use of Florida over time. Zoomable high resolution images represent every inch of Florida. Searchable databases and a map interface offer users easy access to the collections. The collection will continue to grow as multiple agencies make their images available.

Collection of AP News photos spanning 1826 to the present, also includes graphics, AP news sound bytes, and news stories and headlines dating to 1997.

A digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences.

This resource features a wide range of digital images with an emphasis on the history of Western art.

The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists

Provides online access to many materials from USF Libraries Special Collections as well as collections digitized through partnerships with other libraries and repositories.

A catalog of NASA images and animations of our home planet

View maps, fine artwork, photographs and other items from over thirty renowned collections including Florida historical photography and architecture images from USF collections such as the Burgert Brothers and the Robertson and Fresh Collections and Hampton Dunn Postcards Collection.

An internet based archive for public domain image resources, as well as audio, video, and archived Web content.

The Art Institute of Chicago has contributed approximately 1,450 images from their global permanent collection to the Artstor Digital Library. The selection in Artstor represents the diversity and excellence of the collection, featuring iconic highlights with an emphasis on antiquities from various cultures, European paintings, and works on paper

High resolution, public domain, classical art works.

The Cleveland Museum of Art released more than 34,000 digital images of public domain works in high resolution.

An online sharing service where users share free public domain vector cliparts, or vector cliparts from public domain photos.

Search for images that are in the public domain OR have been granted creative commons status.

A search engine of free vector designs. The majority of the resources offered at Freepik can be used for free with attribution.

A search engine for locating images released with a Creative Commons license.

Images on Pexels are released under Creative Commons CC0 and can be used for personal or commercial purposes freely.

Images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0 and can be downloaded, modified, distributed, and used them royalty-free.

The Smithsonian Institution is the world’s largest museum, education, and research complex, with 19 museums and the National Zoo—shaping the future by preserving our heritage, discovering new knowledge, and sharing our resources with the world.

An online database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.