Africana Studies

Quick videos and playlists designed to help you to get the information you need for writing, researching, and projects.

Collection of AP News photos spanning 1826 to the present. Also includes graphics, AP news sound bytes, and news stories and headlines dating to 1997.

ARTstor has been reabsorbed back into JSTOR, but you can still find all the image resources there!
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary image database supporting education and research in art, architecture, the humanities.

Images complementing and supplementing the Digital Schomburg's full-text resources on African, African American and African Diasporan history and culture.

Nearly 350 images showing African Americans and related military and social history, nineteenth to twentieth century.

A photo exhibit depicting the history of African Americans in Florida, as produced by the State Library & Archives of Florida.

This “Educational Netflix” offers streaming films, current and classic movies, and documentaries. Titles are searchable in the USF Libraries catalog.

An integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles licensed by USF. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.

African-American Sacred Music from the Florida Folklife Collection.

Digital collection of interviews with several of Florida's civil rights leaders active in the movement in the United States and Florida during the 1950s and 1960s.

Oral histories conducted with members of Tampa's African American communities, 1977-1978.

Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.