Africana Studies

Archival and manuscript collections documenting the families, businesses, and issues comprising the African American experience in Florida.

Provides virtual access to the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture's exhibitions, collections, and audio and video streams.

Digital library of materials documenting African American history and cultural life, as aggregated from archives, libraries, museums, and other US repositories.

Website featuring high-quality analysis and progressive advocacy on African issues, with particular attention to priority issues affecting the entire continent.

Collection of digitized items from the Library of Congress' African-American collections.

An online reference center of encyclopedia entries, speeches, full text materials, and archival documents on African American History.

Repository of materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions from the post-World War II era.

Digital publishing initiative providing access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture.

Cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical, and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Data on race and slavery extracted from 18th and 19th-century documents. Contains detailed information on about 150,000 individuals, including slaves, free people of color, and whites.

Collection of written interviews presented with the permission and cooperation of the Florida Historical Society.

Substantial collection of manuscript materials documenting American slavery and the slave trade in the Atlantic world.

Online access to fire insurance maps published by Sanborn between 1860 and 1923 to support insurance assessments for almost every Florida city and town. They show size, shape and construction of buildings.