AFA 2380: History and Theory of Genocide

The handbooks published in the OHO Political Science Collection cover the area of political science, political theory, and international relations. USF has perpetual access to over 130 titles within this collection. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Over 400 books are published annually in Springers Humanities, Social Sciences and Law program, making it a well-known and established scientific source. A leading publisher in the areas of Philosophy of Science, Phenomenology, Educational Research and Higher Education, Springer has made available renowned works such as The Selected Works of Arne Naess, Encyclopedia of the History of Science, Technology and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures (by Selin), Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research (by Smart), or A Treatise of Legal Philosophy and General Jurisprudence (by Pattaro et al). Within this collection, USF has perpetual access to over 10,000 ebooks published between 1891 - 2015. All titles are fully searchable and available 24/7. The Springer ebooks are fully integrated with the Springer online journals for convenience. All ebooks can be accessed through the USF Library catalog, FindIt!, WorldCat, and the SpringerLink site. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Cambridge Books Online offers access to eBooks from Cambridge University Press. Selected books are available in full text to USF-affiliated users. -- USF has purchased more than 2700 titles published online in 2012, 2013, and 2014. In order to access these titles, check the box "Limited to your access" in the search screen. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

The Encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity. From torture and war crimes to ethnocide and linguistic genocide, the forms of persecution are examined. Also defined are ideas such as intent, complicity and incitement. Biographical entries, profiles perpetrators and those who have sought to bring such criminals to justice. The encyclopedia explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity and provides a comprehensive survey of the issues surrounding genocide. The Holocaust receives extensive attention, but so too do other modern atrocities. Coverage is not limited to the modern era, but includes discussions of Rome's treatment of Carthage, the campaigns of Genghis Khan, the Spanish Inquisition and the Atlantic slave trade. Other essays examine the question of whether the definition of genocide applies to the forced removal of Native Americans or the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima. Also explored is the susceptibility to abuse of such groups as women, children, homosexuals or the disabled. The sociology and psychology of victims, perpetrators and survivors is also covered. From the Supreme Court decision on the Amistad slave captives to the prosecution of Serbian war criminals, a selection of historical documents traces the extension of protections to civilian populations in international law.

This A-to-Z encyclopedia examines the entire history of crimes against humanity, during both wartime and peacetime. With more than 450 entries, the encyclopedia covers a wide range of relevant topics: human rights, war criminals, trials of war crimes, examples of genocide, international organizations and international law concerning war crimes, and more. Also included is a primary resources section of documents vital to understanding this subject. Coverage includes: Amnesty International, apartheid, Armenian genocide, Babi Yar, Klaus Barbie, biological weapons, Bosnia and Herzegovinia, Cambodia, collateral damage, conflict diamonds, Darfur, Francois "Papa Doc" Duvalier, El Salvador, ethnic cleansing, Freedom House, Geneva Conventions, ghost prisoners, gulags, Human Rights Convention, Saddam Hussein, International Committee of the Red Cross, My Lai massacre, North Korea, Pol Pot, Rwanda, Shining Path, slavery, Taliban, Desmond Tutu, and Simon Wiesenthal. Simultaneous Users: Unlimited