English

Searchable corpus providing a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.

Digital library of books printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and books printed in English internationally, 1473-1700. Subject coverage includes literary and historical texts, science, music, religion, government, and almanacs.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries.

Collection of British and Irish novels from 1782 to 1903, including Gothic fiction, canonical novels, popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels, and children's literature.

Collection of works by some of the most influential poets of the 20th century.

African American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work.

A growing collection of poetry written by the most important and influential poets of the 20th century.

Contains poetry from 1900 to the present day. The collection includes poetry in English by poets from outside the British Isles, as well as significant translations of non-English poets.

Poems from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

Full-text English verse drama and English prose drama, 1280-1915.

Includes more than 183,000 poems, comprising the core canon of poetry in English from the 8th century to the early 20th. Includes poetry written in English by authors from Ireland, Australia, New Zealand and other parts of the world.

Search 160 years of U.S. periodicals with this powerful tool.

Digital archive of newspapers, news pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) and compiled from holdings of the British Library.

Digital archive of 19th century newspapers from the British Library. Includes newspapers from urban areas as well as regional papers from the Midlands, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

Newspaper coverage from the United States, 1800-1900.

Full text access to a variety of British newspapers published between 1600 and 1900.

Full text access to access to a variety of newspapers published in America between 1690 and 1876.

llustrated London News Historical Archive collects the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper about British and world events, from the paper that ran 1842–2003.

Full text access to every issue of the New York Times published between 1851 and 2012.

The complete Times of London newspaper, 1785 to present. Provides full-text and full-image access, including advertisements, editorials, and announcements.

Online access to the Times Literary Supplement, 1902-present. An excellent source for book reviews and literary news.

Primary source material from the periodical press in Britain. Includes quarterlies, coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies, and illustrated family magazines. Coverage: 17th century-end of Victorian era.

Primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, including playbills, scripts, operas, and complete scores. Most documents from the British Library.

Primary source documents dating from 1500-2000 with a focus on colonial history, politics, culture, and society. Most documents from the British Library.