Currently offering the searchable full text of more than 1,100 plays from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century, American Drama offers coverage of American dramatic writing in all its diversity, from eighteenth-century dialogues and rhetorical exercises on moral or politcal themes, to plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, naturalist and realist plays, frontier plays and temperance dialogues.
Black Drama : 1850 to Present (Second Edition) contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 150 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
The complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
Digital Theatre Plus provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. It includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
Theatre in video will contain more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. This resource represents hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Kanopy is an online video streaming service that provides access to 26,000 videos from leading producers such as Criterion, Documentary Educational Resources, BBC Active, Film Ideas, Green Planet, Kino Lorber, PBS, Ronin Films, The Teaching Company and others. These videos are all genres - from documentaries to movies and training videos - and cover a variety of topics. Limited to licensed videos only. Requests for new content accepted from faculty for course use only. For more information, please see our Media Resources: Images, Video, and Audio guide at https://guides.lib.usf.edu/media.