GEB 6895: Integrated Business Applications
Introduction
Finding information about companies -- especially small, local companies -- can be difficult. There is no, one source that can answer every question. Instead, it will require the use of both Internet sources and library databases. The steps on this page can help you get started with your research by suggesting some basic databases you can use to located information about your company/business and its business environment. You can then use the resources on the following pages to continue your research.
If you have any questions, contact your librarian. My information is in the left-hand column. Also, I've included a link to an online book that provides suggestions for doing local business research.
Let's get started.
Research on Main Street by
In today's global economy, businesses need targeted, localized information about customers, companies, and industries, but adding the element of geography to any search topic--especially for counties, cities, census blocks, or any other substate areas--makes any project more challenging. Aimed at tackling these issues head-on, this guide offers free and low-cost options for using the web to find business and market information about various places, usually on the substate geographic level. Revealing how to use local sources for more in-depth research into people, companies, and national issues, this resource offers a manageable structure for how to approach this type of research, key resources, and practical solutions to specific questions. Each chapter includes valuable "Tips from the Pros," short sections spotlighting expert researchers' advice for finding information about local demographics, economies, companies, people, and issues. A companion website can be found at www.ResearchOnMainStreet.com.
ISBN: 9780910965880Publication Date: 2011-04-01
First, find your NAICS Code
The NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System) Code is used by the U.S. Government to gather and disseminate information about industries. There are a couple different ways to find a NAICS code.
Method 1
If you already know a company you are researching, look them up in one of the library's company directories. The NAICS code will be provided in a company details section or an industry details section.
Try these directories to get started:
- Mergent IntellectInformation on public and private companies together with consumer data and business directory information.
Method 2
Use one of the public available search sites to search by industry, such as 'pet stores'.
Try these:
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)Searchable database of standards used to identify, collect, analyze, and publish statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
- NAICS AssociationPublicly available NAICS Search
Second, Use the Company Directories to find more information
Both Mergent Intellect and Nexis Uni can provide more information about the company and the industry. Try looking through the tabs across the top (Mergent) or on the side (Nexis) to see what other information may be available.
- Business Insights: EssentialsCompany and industry profiles, SWOT reports, and market share and financial reports covering consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, technology, telecoms, e-commerce, and human resources.
- Mergent IntellectInformation on public and private companies together with consumer data and business directory information.
Third, use a market research database to find information about the industry
You can use one of the library's marketing databases (and the NAICS code) to find comprehensive information about an industry. Here are some suggestions:
- IBISWorldIndustry research and analysis including risk ratings and procurement reports.
- Business Insights: EssentialsCompany and industry profiles, SWOT reports, and market share and financial reports covering consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, technology, telecoms, e-commerce, and human resources.
Fourth, look up articles in local news sources
Use these tools to find information about your company and the local business environment in local news sources.
- Access World NewsFull text news from national and international sources including specific information about local companies, politics, sports, industries and culture.
Fifth, look up articles in trade magazines and journals
Use the library's databases to look up articles and industry news in trade publications. Whether it's Ratchet+Wrench for auto repair or Supermarket News for grocery stores, these publications can help you collect current information about the state of the business. Use the NAICS code you found in Step 1 to limit by industry.
- ABI/INFORM GlobalIn-depth coverage of business and management trends, practices, theory and tactics. Mostly full text publications with coverage from 1855 forward.
- Business Source PremierFull text articles from journals and magazines covering business subjects including accounting, finance, economics, marketing, MIS, and operations management, spanning from 1886 to the present.