- University of South Florida Libraries
- LibGuides
- Florida Environment & Natural History
- Florida Environment & Natural History (FLENH) at USF
FLENH Contacts
FLENH Curator: Chris Kiahtipes, Ph.D.
FLENH Coordinator: Erin Peel, M.S.
Florida Environment & Natural History
Introduction
Welcome to the LibGuide for USF's Florida Environment and Natural History (FLENH) collections! FLENH is part of USF Tampa Library's Special Collections department and is dedicated to preserving and curating archival materials that document environmental change in Florida and beyond. FLENH is comprised of more than 30 individual collections originating from individuals, scientific societies, and community organizations across Florida.
This LibGuide compiles resources relevant to FLENH and Florida's environmental and natural history. On this introductory page, you will find FLENH resources directly managed by USF's Special Collections department. Additional pages of this guide expand into other internal and external resources.
FLENH Digital Resources
- FLENH Online PortalExplore USF's Florida Environment & Natural History Portal! This portal is the primary hub for all things FLENH and houses links for publications, online exhibits, data sets, digital resources, and other materials hosted by USF Special Collections - Tampa that relates to Florida's environment.
- FLENH in Digital CommonsView items within the FLENH collections that have been digitized and are freely available online. The search bar in the upper, left corner allows you to search across all digitized collections, as well as create your own advanced search options. Even with an aggressive digitization plan in place, only a small portion of our holdings are completely digitized. Use the ArchivesSpace link below to check out the full extent of our collections.
- FLENH in ArchivesSpacePeruse our current archival collections within ArchivesSpace! Selecting items will generate a Finding Aid that will allow you to request those materials and schedule an appointment to visit USF Tampa - Special Collections to view the items. For more information on how to request materials, select the "How to Use Special Collections" tab on the left of this LibGuide page.
- USF Library CatalogAlthough some FLENH books are listed within ArchivesSpace if they were donated as part of a collection, our full inventory of books is available through the USF Library Catalog system by searching "Environment and Natural History Collection" and using the "Refine Your Results" bar on the left-hand side to locate the "Library" dropdown menu. Use this menu to filter your results by "USF SPECIAL COLLECTIONS-Tampa." Clicking on the desired item/book will allow you to check if the item is available and to submit a "Request for Reading Room Use." Requesting an item within the catalog will automatically direct you to Aeon to login and complete your submission.
- Oral HistoriesBrowse a selection of Environmental and Natural History oral histories within USF's Digital Commons. Topics cover land use, Tampa Bay estuary health, ornithology, the citrus industry, karst systems, and more.
- Karst Information Portal (KIP)Visit one of the most popular sections of FLENH: The Karst Information Portal. This portal focuses specifically on Karst materials, including publications, newsletters, maps, monographs, and much more!
- USF Tampa Library - Special Collections InstagramFollow the Special Collections Instagram account to discover fun posts about FLENH and our other 500+ collections.
- FLENH Coloring BooksDownload FLENH's open-access coloring books that were part of The New York Academy of Medicine's #ColorOurCollections initiative.