Florida Environment & Natural History

How to Use USF Tampa Library - Special Collections

Special Collections is located on the 4th floor of the USF Tampa campus library. We are currently open by appointment only, Monday - Friday, 9AM to 4PM. Appointments should be scheduled at least two business days in advance.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Requesting materials from Special Collections is a two-step process:

1) Locate the materials to request on ArchivesSpace or the Library Catalog & submit a request via Aeon

2) Schedule an appointment to visit Special Collections in person to view the materials

*Explore the links below for more information on how to complete these steps.*

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you need further assistance, please contact Special Collections directly at spcinfo@usf.edu or (813) 974-2731.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ArchivesSpace
This link brings you to an overview of the archival collections within FLENH. By selecting a collection, box, and/or folder that you would like to view, you will generate a Finding Aid. While on the page of the item you would like to request, simply click on "Aeon Request" in the top, right corner. This will prompt you to log in (or create an account) using Aeon. Once you are in Aeon, you can submit your request to Special Collections.
Request a Reading Room Appointment
After submitting your Aeon request, follow this link to select a convenient time to visit Special Collections to view the materials. Special Collections is currently open Monday through Friday, 9-4pm by appointment only.

How to Request Materials
This brief video shows how to request materials in ArchivesSpace and schedule an appointment to come into USF Special Collections to view the requested materials. If you are still having issues requesting materials, please contact us directly at spcinfo@usf.edu.

USF Library Catalog
Although some books are listed within ArchivesSpace if they were donated as part of a collection, our full inventory of books is available through the USF Library Catalog system. After inputting your desired search term, use the "Refine Your Results" bar on the left-hand side to select the "Library" dropdown menu. This menu will allow you to filter your results by "USF SPECIAL COLLECTIONS-Tampa." Clicking on the desired item/book will allow you to check if the item is available and to submit a "Request for Reading Room Use." Requesting an item within the catalog will automatically direct you to Aeon to login and complete your submission.
USF Digital Commons - Special Collections
Browse all available materials that have been digitized from USF Tampa - Special Collections. The search bar in the upper, left corner allows you to search across all digitized collections, as well as create your own advanced search options.
Tampa Campus Special Collections
Visit our general "About" page to learn more about our collections, services, team, and exhibits.
Special Collections: Research Consultation Request
Submit a request for a research consultation with a member from Special Collections. If your question pertains to the FLENH collections, please note that under "Consultation Details," and a member of our team will get back to you shortly.