The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.
Managed by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, this website is an excellent, free encyclopedia of bird information and resources. The website contains a plethora of materials, such as photographs, live bird cams, articles, bird identification tips, games, online courses, and more!
A digital archive of animal sounds, video, and photographs. Although run by an ornithology lab, the library includes data on birds, amphibians, mammals, and more. Simply enter your species of interest and use the filters at the top, left of the results page to sort by images, audio, or video.
EDDMapS is run by the University of Georgia's Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health. The platform allows users to find, map, and track invasive species and pests throughout the US and Canada.
GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
This database is a product of UNESCO's long-term International Oceanic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) initiative. OBIS is a global, open-access database that georeferences observations of marine organisms.
Developed by the United Nations Environment Programme, the Ocean Data Viewer hosts datasets relevant to marine and coastal biodiversity. Although this database contains fewer total datasets, they are global in coverage and observations are georeferenced.
Plants of the World Online (POWO) is an open-access database of plant taxonomy, distribution, identification, images, and traits. Founded in 2017, POWO includes botanical data from the past 250 years, provides updates to outdated scientific names, and offers detailed plant descriptions.
The Tropicos database is sponsored by the Missouri Botanical Garden and links over 1.37 million scientific names to plant specimens and digital images. In addition, it tracks taxonomic nomenclature, distribution observations, and publications related to plants and ferns.
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Coverage 1950-present.
As a member of the World Data System of the International Science Council, PANGAEA is an open access repository for georeferenced data. This data publisher hosts searchable datasets from published earth systems research projects.
The Touchton Map Library is managed by the Tampa Bay History Center and is comprised of thousands of maps from the Touchton Map Library, the Florida Center for Cartographic Education, and the University of South Florida Libraries. It is the only cartographic center in the southeastern United States.
The University of Florida's Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences maintains multiple free apps to help you learn more about sustainable landscaping. The five available apps are: 1) Florida-Friendly Landscaping (FFL) Plant Guide, 2) Florida Fertilizer Ordinances, 3) Florida Toxic Plants, 4) FFL Butterfly Gardens, and 5) FFL Bee Gardens.
This app is brought to you by the California Academy of Sciences and the National Geographic Society. Join a community of amateur and professional biologists to document your personal encounters with nature! This app allows you to keep track of your observations, contribute to research, get help identifying the plants and animals around you, and more.