eBooks at the USF Libraries
American Creoles : The Francophone Caribbean and the American South by ISBN: 9781781386095
Being Contemporary : French Literature, Culture and Politics Today. by ISBN: 9781781384343
Branding the 'Beur' Author by ISBN: 9781781381960
Experiments with Empire by ISBN: 9781478004004
Framing French culture by ISBN: 9781922064875
French Studies in and for the 21st Century by ISBN: 9781846316555
Gender, Reading, and Truth in the Twelfth Century by ISBN: 9781641893787
The Invention of Europe in French Literature and Film by ISBN: 9780230619128
Memory As Colonial Capital by ISBN: 9783319505763
"Moult a Sans et Vallour" by ISBN: 9789401208154
A New History of Medieval French Literature by ISBN: 9781421403038
Women Dramatists, Humor, and the French Stage by ISBN: 9781137452900
World Languages
French Scholarly Articles
- Fabula: La Recherche en LiteratureFrench-language journals in the humanities and social sciences
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages; from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
- Persee.French-language journals in the field of the social and human sciences.
French Literature
Finding French Language Books through the USF Libraries Catalog
- Go to the USF Library Catalog Advanced Search Page
- Limit Format to Book
- Limit Language to French
- Click Search
Databases with French Literature
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new windowFull-text retrieval databases of classical French writings, reference resources, bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, periodicals, pamphlets, and ARTFL newsletters. Databases include literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings, and technical treatises. Coverage starts with 13th century. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited
- Bibliothèque Numerique TV5 Monde500 classical novels and short stories
- Femmes Ecrivains et les Litteratures AfricainesDiscover the novels, short stories, plays, poetry, and interviews from French women writers from the African continent, south of the Sahara.
- Francophone Scholars Electronic Discussion ListFacilitating the exchange of ideas and stimulate discussion between people actively working in transnational literary francophone fields.
- French Women WritersOver 100 works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century.
- Inter-PlayAn online index to plays in collections, anthologies, and periodicals. Includes some in French
French Newspapers
- Agence France-PresseAgence France-Presse is an international news agency headquartered in Paris, France. Founded in 1835 as Havas, it is the world's oldest news agency.
- La tribune de GenèveThe Tribune de Genève is a Swiss French-language, regional daily newspaper, published in Berliner format by Edipresse in Geneva.
- Le FigaroLe Figaro is a French daily morning newspaper founded in 1826 and published in Paris. One of three French newspapers of record.
- Le MondeLe Monde is a French daily afternoon newspaper. One of three French newspapers of record.
- LibérationLibération, popularly known as Libé, is a daily newspaper in France.. One of three French newspapers of record.
- L'ObsL'Obs is a weekly French language news magazine. It is the most prominent French general information magazine in terms of audience and circulation.
- Midi LibreMidi Libre is a French daily newspaper in Montpellier that covers general news. It began publication in 1944.
- Radio France InternationaleRFI is a French news and current affairs public radio station that broadcasts worldwide in French and in 13 other languages*
Historical Newspapers
- Digital French-Language Newspaper PortalThis portal to online French-language newspapers with an emphasis on historical newspaper holdings
- Newspapers of the Second RepublicA collection of more than 300 newspapers and pamphlets, 1848-1853, bound in five large volumes.
Film / Media Studies
- Streaming Film on KanopyFrench films licensed by USF Libraries and available through Kanopy. If you are off campus, you will be asked to log-in to MyUSF
- Streaming Film on SwankPopular movies with some French Films.
Finding French Language Films In the USF Library Catalog
- Limit Format to Video (all format)
- Limit Language to French
- Click Search
Film and Media Databases
- AllocineProviding moviegoers with a practical and rapid source of information on French cinema
- Cine-RessourcesArchive of resources on French cinema
- Le Cinema FrancaisDetails on French Directors, Actors, and feature films
- EUSCREENFree online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Content from early 1900s until today.
- France CultureFrench public radio channel with programming on historical, philosophical, sociopolitical, and scientific themes as well as literary readings and radio plays
- Institut National AudiovisuelA repository of all French radio and television audiovisual archives. Also provides free access to archives of countries such as Afghanistan and Cambodia.
- UpopiIntro to the vocabulary of film analysis from a course by Laurence Moinereau
Digital Special Collections
- Archives Audiovisuelles de la RechercheA portal devoted to scientific and cultural heritage. ARA’s material covers all the human and social sciences and has an international focus on research, education, development, and intercultural dialogue.
- Archives Portal EuropeThe Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries.
- BelgicaDigitized collections at the Bibliothèque royale de Belgique.
- Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaLibrary and Archives Canada (LAC) acquires, processes, preserves and disseminates Canada's documentary heritage in addition to being the permanent memory of the federal administration and its institutions.
- EuroDocs, FranceConnects to French historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. From the antiquity to the present.
- EuropeanaA digitized multimedia library of the European cultural heritage: books, manuscripts, photos, paintings, maps, audio and film material, newspapers, etc.
- French Revolution Digital ArchiveA digital archive of the key research sources of the French Revolution based around two main resources: the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
- Gallica (Bibliotheque nationale de France)More than one million digitized documents (books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, scores, sound recordings, etc.) at the French National Library.
- Les Classiques des Sciences SocialesCreated by the University of Quebec at Chicoutimi (UQAC), this site provides free access to French-language works in the social and human sciences, with particular emphasis on French Canadian publications.
- Réseau des Bibliothèques de Suisse OccidentaleLibrary Network of Western Switzerland (Swiss, French, and Italian libraries)
Practice French
- Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links2nd Edition - A Globe Supersite with over 10,000 links
- Le Point du FLEInstructional videos teach online collaboration using digital skills
- La chanson en cours de FLE.French songs for language learning
Dictionaries
- Boyer's Royal dictionary abridged byContaining the greatest number of words of any French and English dictionary yet extant.
- Dictionary of Louisiana French : as spoken in Cajun, Creole, and American Indian communities byA rich inventory of French vocabulary in Louisiana, from 1930 to the present. Describes the current usage in the five broad regions: the coastal marshes, the banks of the Mississippi River, the central area, the north, and the western prairie.
- SynonymesSynonymes et des antonymes Francais
- Trésor de la Langue Française informatiséDictionary of the French language of the 19th and 20th centuries