J-STAGE is an electronic journal platform for science and technology information in Japan, developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST) and has published more than 2,000 journals, conference proceedings and other academic publications.
The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. Image content in this collection is accompanied by OCR-generated text where possible, thus rendering the text searchable.
The National Archives is an organization for preserving, as historical materials, public records and archives of importance transferred from state organs, and providing them for public use, with the aim of achieving appropriate preservation and use of such public records and archives that are kept in the National Archives or state organs as historical materials.
The National Diet Library Law requires that all publications published in Japan, including microfilms, CDs, DVDs, maps, and more, must be deposited with the NDL. Through the Legal Deposit System, the NDL collects many domestic publications as the only legal deposit library in Japan. It also holds domestic publications which were published before the legal deposit system was initiated. The NDL owns the largest library collection in Japan.
The Victoria & Albert Museum in London has been collecting Japanese art and design since it was founded in 1852 and now holds one of the world's most comprehensive collections, including ceramics, lacquer, arms and armor, woodwork, metalwork, textiles and dress, prints, paintings, sculpture and modern & contemporary studio crafts.