BOT 3850: Medical Botany

About Databases

Databases are a great resource to search for scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles on topics within the field of medical botany. The databases below are available through the USF Libraries and can be a starting point for research into medical botany topics.

General Science Databases

There are many general science databases which can be used for conducting an article search. The link below will take you to the USF Library's "Biology" LibGuide which provides links to many general science databases, including Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar.

General Science Databases

Medicine Databases

PubMed
Citation index for literature in the biomedical and life sciences fields dating back to the 1950s. Some citations link to full-text articles.
PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
Embase
Embase is a database for biomedical and pharmacological published literature. After conducting a search and finding scholarly articles of interest, click on the "View Full Text" button to access the Full-Text article.

Botany Databases

These databases focus more specifically on the field of Medical Botany and its various components, including botany, ethnobotany, chemistry, pharmacology, and medicine.

Angiosperm Phylogeny Website
Website created by the Missouri Botanical Gardens with extensive information and resources regarding the phylogeny of angiosperm plants.
Tropicos
The Tropicos database is sponsored by the Missouri Botanical Garden and links over 1.37 million scientific names to plant specimens and digital images. In addition, it tracks taxonomic nomenclature, distribution observations, and publications related to plants and ferns.
Kew Royal Botanic Gardens: Plants of the World Online
Plants of the World Online (POWO) is an open-access database of plant taxonomy, distribution, identification, images, and traits. Founded in 2017, POWO includes botanical data from the past 250 years, provides updates to outdated scientific names, and offers detailed plant descriptions.
Atlas of Florida Plants
The USF Herbarium works to scan and upload images of botanical specimens into the Atlas of Florida Plants. Click this link to be taken to the Atlas of Florida Plants where you can search for specimens and view images as well as information about the taxonomy and location of specimens.
USDA - PLANTS
The PLANTS (Plant List of Attributes, Names, Taxonomy, and Symbols) Database, by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Botanicus Digital Library
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
eFloras.org
eFloras is a searchable database providing botanical and taxonomic information about plant species.
HerbMed
HerbMed is an interactive, electronic herbal database providing hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based information resource for professionals, researchers, and the general public.
New York Botanical Garden: C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium
The C. V. Starr Virtual Herbarium is the gateway to the digitized specimens of the William and Lynda Steere Herbarium at the New York Botanical Garden. The virtual herbarium has over four million specimens digitized. It contains biodiversity information and a digital image search feature.
World Flora Online
World Flora Online is an open-access web-based compendium of the world’s 400,000 species of vascular plants and mosses. It is searchable by species, genus, family, or any words describing the plant.