BOT 3850: Medical Botany
About Special Collections Books
The books listed below are medical botany related books available at USF Libraries - Tampa Special Collections. They're listed by subject and then chronologically by publication date, which ranges from the 1600s to as recent as 2001.
The books at Special Collections are available for viewing by appointment in the Reading Room at the Special Collections Department of the library, but cannot be checked out or taken home. See the "Special Collections" page on the left navigation menu for information about how to make an appointment and request materials at Special Collections.
Rare Books
Flora Sinensis, ou, Traité des flerus , des fruits, des plantes, et des animeaux particuliers à la Chine byCall Number: VE-25 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Vault)Publication Date: 1696Book describing the plants and animals of Asia with vibrantly colored illustrations. This was one of the first descriptions of Asian plants and animals brought back to Europe.
The Greek herbal of Dioscorides by Call Number: QK11 .D65 (USF Herbarium Library)Publication Date: 1959Book about the medical botany studies of Pedanius Dioscorides, a Greek physician, pharmacologist, and botanist who is considered to be the "father of pharmacognosy". Pharmacognosy is defined as the study of drugs from natural sources like plants, animals, and fungi.Herbarium : natural remedies from a medieval manuscript by
Call Number: RS79 .T462513 1980 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Illuminated Manuscript Reference Collection)Publication Date: c1980Book on medieval medical botany, including reproductions of 47 plant listings from the 15th century Theatrum sanitatis medieval manuscript.
Explorers' Journals
Natural history of Carolina, Florida, and the Bahama Islands... by Call Number: VH-1 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Vault)Publication Date: 1754Book describing the plants and animals of the Carolinas, Florida, and the Bahamas. The book includes many descriptions of plants and their medical properties.
The North American sylva, or A description of the forest trees, of the United States, Canada and Nova Scotia... by Call Number: D-832 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Rare Book Collection)Publication Date: 1817-1819Book describing the tree species of North America. The book describes some of the medical properties of various North American tree species, including the Georgia Bark tree (Pinckneya Pubens).
The North American sylva : or, A description of the forest trees of the United States, Canada, and Nova Scotia, not described in the work of F. Andrew Michaux, and containing all the forest trees discovered in the Rocky Mountains, the territory of Oregon, by Call Number: VE-34 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Vault)Publication Date: 1859Book describing the tree species of North America, especially of Western North American regions like the Rocky Mountains, Oregon, and California. The book describes some of the medical properties of various North American tree species, including Willow trees (Genus Salix) and the aspirin compounds contained in their bark.
The North American sylva; or, A description of the forest trees of the United States, Canada and Nova Scotia... by Call Number: E-276 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Rare Book Collection)Publication Date: 1865Book describing the tree species of North America. The book describes some of the medical properties of various North American tree species, including the Papaw (or Papaya) Tree (Carica papaya) which is described as having milky sap that is used for the treatment of ringworm.
Plant Descriptions
A description of a great variety of animals and vegetables... by Call Number: C-1150 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Rare Book Collection)Publication Date: 1736Book describing various animals and plants, including some medicinal or poisonous plants, like Mandrakes (Genus Mandragora), which are a group of poisonous plants in the Solanaceae family, also called the Nightshade family.
Popular Field Botany: containing a familiar and technical description of the plants most common to the various localities of the British Isles, adapted to the study of either the artificial or natural systems by Call Number: C-751 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Rare Book Collection)Publication Date: 1849Book describing the botany of plants native to Britain, including their medical or poisonous properties.
Medicine Focused
Medical Botany: containing systematic and general descriptions, with plates of all the medicinal plants, indigenous and exotic, comprehended in the catalogues of the materia medica by Call Number: D-851 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Rare Book Collection)Publication Date: 1810Book which provides a thorough description of medical botany information available in the late 18th century. The book was published in London and includes medical botany of plants native to England as well as exotic plants.
Poisonous Plants
British Poisonous Plants by Call Number: C-949 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Rare Book Collection)Publication Date: 1856Book describing the poisonous properties of various plants found in Britain.
Florida Related
Important Medicinal Plants of Florida by Call Number: QK99 .J54 1961 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Floridiana Collection)Publication Date: 1961Book describing the important medicinal plants found in the state of Florida.
The Important Medicinal Plants of Florida book is also accessible online through the University of Florida library at the following web address: https://ufdcimages.uflib.ufl.edu/UF/00/08/89/80/00002/UF00088980_00002.pdf
Collection and cultivation of medicinal plants of Florida by Call Number: SB294.U5 C75 1995 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Floridiana Collection)Publication Date: 1995Book describing the medical botany of plants found in Florida, including how to collect and cultivate them.
A field guide to the medicinal plants of Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary by Call Number: QK99.U52 B45 1998 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Environmental and Natural History Collection)Publication Date: 1998Field guide describing the medicinal plants found at Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary in Naples, Southwest Florida.
Healing Plants : medicine of the Florida Seminole Indians by Call Number: E99.S28 S66 2001 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Floridiana Collection)Publication Date: 2001Book describing the medical botany knowledge and practices of the Seminole indigenous peoples of Florida.
Periodicals
The Palmetto by Call Number: QK154 .P35 (USF Tampa Special Collections-Floridiana Collection)Publication Date: 1981The official publication of the Florida Native Plant Society, containing articles on Florida native plants and information about their medicinal properties.