BOT 3850: Medical Botany

About Special Collections

Special Collections is home to anything considered "special," such as rare and historic books, photographs, and other archival materials; anything that wouldn't be found on the general circulation stacks of the library. Special Collections is located on the 4th floor of the USF Tampa campus library and is open by appointment only, Monday-Friday, from 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Appointments should be scheduled at least two business days in advance.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Requesting materials from Special Collections is a two-step process:

1) Locate the materials to request on ArchivesSpace or the Library Catalog & submit a request via Aeon (the software platform used for materials requests)

2) Schedule an appointment to visit Special Collections in person to view the materials

*Explore the links below for more information on how to complete these steps.*

ArchivesSpace
This link brings you to an overview of the archival collections within FLENH. By selecting a collection, box, and/or folder that you would like to view, you will generate a Finding Aid. You can also click the magnifying glass icon to do a general keyword search of all the collections.

While on the page of the item you would like to request, simply click on "Aeon Request" in the top, right corner. This will prompt you to log in (or create an account) using Aeon. Once you are in Aeon, you can submit your request to Special Collections.
USF Library Catalog
Although some FLENH books are listed within ArchivesSpace if they were donated as part of a collection, our full inventory of books is available through the USF Library Catalog system by searching "Environment and Natural History Collection" and using the "Refine Your Results" bar on the left-hand side to locate the "Library" dropdown menu. Use this menu to filter your results by "USF SPECIAL COLLECTIONS-Tampa." Clicking on the desired item/book will allow you to check if the item is available and to submit a "Request for Reading Room Use." Requesting an item within the catalog will automatically direct you to Aeon to login and complete your submission.

How to Request Materials
This brief video shows how to request materials in ArchivesSpace and schedule an appointment to come into USF Special Collections to view the requested materials. If you are still having issues requesting materials, please contact us directly at spcinfo@usf.edu.

Request a Reading Room Appointment
After submitting your Aeon request, follow this link to select a convenient time to visit Special Collections to view the materials. Special Collections is currently open Monday through Friday, 9-4pm by appointment only.
USF Digital Commons - Special Collections
Browse all available materials that have been digitized from USF Tampa - Special Collections. The search bar in the upper, left corner allows you to search across all digitized collections, as well as create your own advanced search options.
Tampa Campus Special Collections
Visit our general "About" page to learn more about our collections, services, team, and exhibits.
Special Collections: Research Consultation Request
Submit a request for a research consultation with a member from Special Collections. If your question pertains to the FLENH collections, please note that under "Consultation Details," and a member of our team will get back to you shortly.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you need further assistance, please contact Special Collections directly at spcinfo@usf.edu or (813) 396-2592.

Florida Environment and Natural History (FLENH) collections at USF Tampa Library - Special Collections

The Florida Environment and Natural History (FLENH) collections are a group of environmentally focused archival collections at the USF Tampa Library - Special Collections. Topics covered in FLENH include birds, fish, marine science, botany, land management, environmental law and policy, and more!

There are many resources on the topic of medical botany within FLENH. To access the FLENH materials, you can explore the FLENH online portal, explore the virtual instruction sessions, browse and request materials, and make an appointment to view the materials at Special Collections. Some FLENH materials have been digitized and are available to view online through the USF Digital Commons platform. You can also schedule a research consultation with a member of the FLENH team to get help with your research and explore more medical botany resources in FLENH.

FLENH Online Portal
Explore USF's Florida Environment & Natural History Portal! This portal is the primary hub for all things FLENH and houses links for publications, online exhibits, data sets, digital resources, and other materials hosted by USF Special Collections - Tampa that relates to Florida's environment.
Medical Botany Virtual Instruction Session
This is a StoryMap Virtual Instruction Session curated specifically for the BOT3850 Medical Botany course at USF. It contains information, resources, and context about medical botany through the lens of materials available in the FLENH collections at USF Special Collections.
FLENH LibGuide
A LibGuide for the Florida Environment and Natural History (FLENH) collections at USF Special Collections. The LibGuide contains information about FLENH, how to explore and access materials, and lots of helpful resource links.
FLENH Coloring Books
Download FLENH's open-access coloring books that were part of The New York Academy of Medicine's #ColorOurCollections initiative. Coloring book images include plants, birds, butterflies, and more!
FLENH in Digital Commons
View items within the FLENH collections that have been digitized and are freely available online. The search bar in the upper, left corner allows you to search across all digitized collections, as well as create your own advanced search options.
Forest Preserve StoryMap
StoryMap from USF Libraries - Florida Environment and Natural History collection exploring the USF Forest Preserve and the education, teaching, and conservation opportunities it provides.
Parks, Sanctuaries, and Ecotourism-StoryMap
StoryMap exploring ecotourism in Florida and the United States. Topics include national parks, state parks, wildlife sanctuaries, and the management practices used to maintain these ecotourism areas.
Connecting Florida's Future: Greenways-StoryMap
StoryMap exploring environmental "Greenways" across Florida and USF, including their history, planning, maintenance, and the impacts they have on humans and the environment.