Comprehensive, multidisciplinary database of dissertations published in the United States. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Select full text coverage, 1743-2016.
In this book, the author identifies the principle modes of academic writing that graduate students and early-career faculty will encounter – specifically focusing on those forms expected of geographers, that is, those modes that are reviewed by academic peers.
Authored and peer-reviewed by world experts, the entries explain the key software, data sets, and processes used by geographers and computational scientists. Nearly 200 topics include major overviews such as Geoinformatics, Spatial Cognition, and Location-Based Services. Short entries, cross-referenced to related larger entries, define specific terms and concepts such as the Global Positioning System, Digital Elevation/Terrain Model, and Remote Sensing. Larger entries include key citations to the literature, and (online) internal hyperlinks to definitional entries and current standards.
This encyclopedia brings together a comprehensive collection of work highlighting established research and emerging science in all relevant disciplines in Human Geography. It offers an overview of topics, the origins and developments, theories and contemporary approaches, links to other issues, policy implications, and suggested readings.
This work explores the development of modern geographical thought and its principles, focusing on the interplay between the physical earth and human activity. The book aims to elucidate how geographical factors influence both natural phenomena and human societies.
This database currently stores data from 1,360 stations county-wide and is inclusive of all groups collecting water resources information. Contains hourly information on streamflow and rainfall, and current water quality information, etc.