If you practice searching, it will help you understand how to search efficiently and effectively in USF's research databases.
TRY THIS search. Locate information about:
Contemporary, international Jazz musician/group (a musician or group that comes from a country other than the USA).
> Search the database Find It! using the terms Irish jazz musicians in the Search Box
Sometimes it helps to use quotes around the search terms you want to search as a phrase "Irish jazz musicians"
You can try it both ways to see what results you get
Scroll down the listings of your results
I became interested in finding out more about Louis Stewart
> Next search for "Louis Stewart" and jazz because I wanted to be sure I retrieved information about Louis Stewart, the Jazz musician, and not another Louis Stewart
> Narrow your search on the left-hand side of the search screen you canto news articles (there are a lot of them), eBooks, academic journal articles and magazine articles
I chose to select academic journals articles
Scroll through the results
> Do the same search in the database JSTOR because JSTOR has all full-text, scholarly articles
Search for "Louis Stewart" and jazz
> Go to Grove Music Online for biographical information
Search for "Louis Stewart" and Jazz
The results retrieved are a variety of biographies, some where "Louis Stewart" is mentioned
However, there is one biography, <Stewart, Louis>, that you can click on to obtain the full article about Louis Stewart including Selected Recordings, a Bibliography, etc.
> Go to Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Search for "Louis Stewart" to discover recordings by Louis Stewart
These are recordings can be used for your discographies
Do additional searching in a variety of databases for information about the recordings using the name of the recordings
TRY THIS search. Locate information about:
A jazz artist/group and how diversity and race issues played a role in their interactions with American society from 1900 -1960.
For this particular assignment, I decided to find out more information about Nina Simone. I first had to determine if there was enough information about her, and if there is, do I need to focus on a particular topic about Nina Simone. My first inclination is to explore the topic.
> Go to the library website, under Research Tools at the top of the screen, select the database Academic Search Premier.
> Type "nina simone".
> Review Research Starter.
> Scroll through the list of sources. You will see there are a lot of citations.
> Narrow your search by using the search terms "civil rights","civil rights movement", "civil rights", "human rights", activism, and "civil rights activist".
> Notice that some articles have Cited References, meaning that is the number of other articles that were written that cited that article.
> Check the bibliographies of the articles you are most interested in and see if the library has those articles.
> Try searching in the other databases listed on this guide or in the databases of your previous research assignment.