GIS 4043: Geographic Information Systems: St. Petersburg campus

Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals in the collection. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.

JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. USF has access to the following collections: Arts & Sciences I - XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Ecology & Botany II Collection, Ireland Collection, Life Sciences Collection, and Sustainability Extension. For more information on these collection, please refer to https://about.jstor.org/librarians/journals/multi-discipline/. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 12,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. It also includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources as well as the renowned AGRICOLA and TOXLINE databases and content previously available in ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
Coverage: 1960 - current

An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Users can search across journals, meetings, patents, and books; search precisely using key terms and controlled terminology in context using fields including biochemistry, genes, and taxonomic data; navigate to related research using indexed cited references. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited

Presents up-to-date health care information, selected by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, for use by health care consumers and health professionals. Hundreds of health topics are listed alphabetically and are also grouped into 32 groups. PubMed database searches, with the search queries already formulated, can be initiated from any of the health topics in order to search for more information. Web links are also provided to dictionaries, sites about doctors and dentists, hospitals, organizations, clearinghouses, databases, consumer health publications (some written in Spanish), and libraries. Website was launched by NLM on October 22, 1998. MEDLINEplus offers free public searches to MEDLINE, long the premier bibliographic database for medical information, as well as access to a vast amount of other information for the health care consumer. There are seven major access points: 'Health Topic, ' Dictionaries, ' 'Search Database, ' 'Clearinghouses, ' 'Directories, ' 'MEDLINE, ' 'Organizations, ' 'Publications/News, ' and 'Libraries.' By selecting a particular Health Topic, a user may access Internet resources from government agencies or private sites such as Mayo Health Oasis. A notable limitation of this site is the fact that many documents retrieved in searches of the MEDLINE database itself are not freely available.