GIS 4043: Geographic Information Systems: St. Petersburg campus
Theresa Burress, Liaison for Sciences
Theresa Burress - USF Libraries
she/her/hers
Contact:
Poynter Library, POY 130
USF St. Petersburg campus
USF St. Petersburg campus
727-873-4977
Additional Tips
- Don’t limit yourself to one discipline—check databases in several related areas
- Consider searching multiple databases at once to see which sources might be the most useful
- Use Google to locate relevant government sites for reports and statistical data by limiting your search to site:.gov or site:.fl.us
- Dissertations can provide good literature reviews as well as focused data
- If you find a useful source, check Google Scholar for its “cited by” links
Finding More Articles
Once you locate a useful article, you may want to look for articles that have cited that work after it was published. This may yield additional useful resources for your own research. Google Scholar and Web of Science are excellent sources for identifying "cited by" references.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Century of Science Archive 1900 - 1944 [Web of Science] This link opens in a new windowThe Century of Science Archive 1900 - 1944 is included in the Web of Science, providing access to scientific articles written between 1900 and 1944. Approximately 850,000 fully indexed journal articles have been added to Web of science, from 262 scientific journals published in the first half of the twentieth century. Selection of journals to be indexed in this collection was based on citation analysis and geographic disciplinary coverage. This comprehensive collection is fully searchable, with complete bibliographic data, cited reference data and navigation, and direct links to the full text, where available. With the acquisition of the Century of Science, the Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles with the linking capabilities of Find it @ USF. -- Simultaneous Users: Unlimited