E-book Collections

About

The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of around 5,000 books of high quality in the humanities. As of June 2016, 125 contributing publishers participate in HEB. Approximately 500 books are added annually. HEB collection includes access from any Internet-connected location on campus, unlimited use, and remote access from home or on the road via the campus network, without simultaneous user restrictions. Fields currently covered include Area Studies for: Australasian/Oceanian, Byzantine, Canadian, Caribbean, Native Peoples, Women's Studies. Historical Studies include African, American, Asian, Comparative/World, Eastern European/Russian, Economic, European, Latin American, Legal, Methods/Theory, Middle East, and Science/Technology. HEB also encompasses the fields of Art History, Literature, Political Science, and Religion. Forthcoming fields include Archaeology, History of Medicine, and History of Philosophy. -- Each year, a group of approximately 300 already-published titles are converted into electronic format to create a core group of books that will expand this central electronic publishing space. These titles contain exact page images of the print book and are searchable by multiple OCR-scanned text. While some of the titles are currently out of print, over 50% are titles currently in print with publishers and nearly 85% are under copyright.

About ACLS Humanities E-books

Use Restrictions

This collection can be accessed by an unlimited number of users simultaneously. Remote access is limited to USF students, faculty and staff. Non USF users can access the collection using a computer at the USF Library.

Connect to the Collection

Viewing, Printing and Downloading

Since most material on this site is licensed for online electronic distribution only, this means that users are restricted to printing a chapter or chapters for personal research use. If, as an instructor, you want to use material in a course, you can provide the Citable Link permanent URL on the title record page. If you want to photocopy a chapter for your course, you must apply directly to the original publisher or copyright holder for permission. If in doubt, or for further information, see our section on fair use.

To download a chapter, go to the chapter/section headings listed under the “Table of Contents” tab. The “Read” button will take you into the e-reader; clicking on the “Download” button generates a PDF of the chapter.

Do not distribute the download link — HEB titles can be accessed by subscribers in a variety of ways, which impacts the URL generated.

A chapter may be downloaded or printed at a time. This is generally sufficient for following a citation or extracting a quotation and follows HEB’s policy for fair-use rights and limitations.

E-Books in the Classroom

instructors can now request the USF Libraries to acquire e-Books for classroom support if they are available electronically.