E-book Collections

About Cambridge Companions

Cambridge Companions are lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers. Together the chapters add up to a systematic critical account of, for example Plato, Luther, Jane Austen, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature, and each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading. -- Addressing topics and figures as diverse as Gothic Fiction and Arabic Philosophy, WB Yeats and Martin Luther, the online collection contains over 3,700 downloadable essays, taken from 400 Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics (247 volumes) and Philosophy, Religion and Culture (153 volumes).

Use Restrictions

This collection can be accessed by an unlimited number of users simultaneously. Remote access is limited to USF students, faculty and staff. Non USF users can access the collection using a computer at the USF Library.

Connect to the Collection

Viewing, Printing and Downloading

Each book page contains tabs showing a book description, table of contents and, usually, a list of references. Click on a PDF icon in the table of contents to view the specified chapter. Individual chapter PDF's can be downloaded, printed, or sent to Dropbox, Google Drive or a Kindle. Additional features include:

  1. Citation tools – these tools include how to cite and citation export functions
  2. Email link to this book and Share - share a link to this book via your email or social network account
  3. Search within this book – this enables you to further refine your search

E-Books in the Classroom

Instructors can now request the USF Libraries to acquire e-Books for classroom support if they are available electronically.